EXTRA! EXTRA! EXTRAS The long Hot Summer: Connections #73

     My dear New York friend, Composer Bob Christianson and his talented lyricist/book writer Alisa Hauser have received  a national Emmy nomination for outstanding Music and Lyrics for “No Trouble,” beautifully performed by Scott Coulter, in the HMS production of A CHRISTMAS CAROL: THE CONCERT that aired on Public Television last December and will repeat again this December.

###

     For my birthday on July 18th my wife Marcia arranged for me to ride along with a Police Officer in a Ford sedan on the midnight watch with the Santa Barbara Police Department.  I will say that you can’t get more upfront and personal than this.  I was told it was a slow night.  A traffic accident with injuries;  possible use of narcotics;  a parole violation that ended up with us transporting the young man to Santa Barbara County Jail, which is run by the sheriff’s’ Department; public drunkenness: the hispanic male had been released from jail only two days before, so we took him to dry out at a detox center.  Sadly, they were going to put him back on the streets at 5:30AM.

     The officer who I spent the 10-hour shift with I got to know really well, and he’s a good man, a gentle soul, and an asset to the SBPD.

###

     I am now on the Board of Directors and the Treasurer of the Community Film Studio of Santa Barbara.  We are a 501 (c)3 non-profit.  I am currently overseeing the deliverables of The Bet, our first feature film, to Origin Releasing.

###

Leave a comment